Table of Contents
Aspire has property and opportunity permissions that allow you to have detailed control on what users can make edits or view specific data. These permissions can be assigned to any user role, but are helpful especially for Account Managers and Sales Reps.
This is a great feature if you want sales representatives or your account managers to view their information, but not be able to see other team members' opportunities or properties in Aspire. Also, you can manage edit permission to ensure that only designated users are the ones making changes to their important property or opportunity information.
By limiting access to properties, it can eliminate editing accidents and can help organize users' views in Aspire to stay on track.
To adjust these permissions:
Click Settings, in the blue side menu, and then Administration.
Click User Management, and then User Roles. Select the Role that needs changes applied.
Under the Properties drop down, you will see permissions relating to limiting property access.
Under the Opportunities drop down, you will see permissions relating to limiting opportunity access.
Restricting Property Visibility and Editing
On user roles, you can allow access to view all properties, or limit visibility to certain properties. To further limit access, you can control the editing permissions on specific user roles.
For editing properties, there are checkboxes you can select which gives permission for editing only on properties that they are listed as the account owner.
📌 Note: Additionally, if your business has multiple branches, you have the ability to limit users to the properties they can access based on their branch permissions assigned to their contact record.
You can check View Properties or View Only My Properties based on how much visibility is needed for a user role. An account manager might need to have visibility to only their properties or might need access to view all properties in Aspire.
This is a default permission for all user roles that are created in Aspire. This allows a user role to view all properties on their branches regardless of them being listed as the property account owner, as shown below.
View Only My Properties
Checking View Only My Properties, and unchecking View Properties, allows your users to view properties that have them listed as the Account Owner.
This permission allows your users to view properties that has them listed as the property account owner only.
⚠️ If checking this permission, users will not be able to view opportunities assigned to them if the opportunity is tied to another Account Manager's property. This could cause workflow issues if you are using other functions of Aspire, like the Optional Service Tool.
📌 Note: If you have a user that should not have access to any property, then both view property permissions would need to be unchecked. They will not be able to see the Properties module in the blue side menu.
Summary of Property View Access Permission
Edit All Properties
Edit All Properties is the default for user roles in Aspire except the Operations Manager role. This permission allows your users to edit any property regardless of who is listed as the property account owner.
Users in the user role are able to access fields on any property record; this also grants your users access to the Bulk Edit menu in the Properties module,, as shown below.
📌 Note: View Only My Properities overrides Edit All Properties. The user will only able to edit the properties that they can view.
Edit My Properties
This permission allows your users to edit properties that have them listed as the Account Owner on the property. They are able to access fields and make edits only on their property records.
💡 If you want your account owners to view all properties but edit only their properties, you would need to select the following checkboxes:
Summary of Property Editing Permissions
Restricting Opportunity Visibility and Editing
You can limit visibility to certain opportunities under the Opportunities section of User Roles. For editing opportunities, you can select a permission for editing only on opportunities that your user is listed as the sales representative.
⚠️ Make sure your property settings are set before editing opportunity permissions.
Example: If you have set the View property permission as View Only My Properties, but want your user to view opportunities that are under another Account Owner's property, they would not be able to see the opportunity details (See Additional Users for exception).
This permission is the default for user roles in Aspire. Selecting this checkbox allows the user to view all opportunities.
User roles with this permission would have access to the opportunity list on the Property screen, as shown below.
The opportunity linked in the Job field on Work Tickets would also be available to them.
View Only My Opportunities
Enabling this permission allows users to view only their opportunities in the Opportunities module.
This permission only allows viewing opportunities under properties that the user also has permission to view.
📌 Note: If the View Opportunities permission is also checked, it will override this permission.
Summary of Opportunity View Access Permissions
Edit All Opportunities
This is the default permission for user roles created in Aspire. This permission allows you to edit any opportunity regardless of who the sales representative is.
Edit My Opportunities
This permission allows users to edit only opportunities which they are the assigned sales rep. They would also need a View Opportunities permission to access opportunities to edit.
If you selected View Only My Opportunities, and Edit My Opportunities, when that user goes to the Opportunities module, they will automatically only see the opportunities they have access to without applying any filters.
📌 Note: If you have the View Opportunity permission, but no permission to edit opportunities, Aspire provides read-only access to information about the opportunity from the Property screen or from the Opportunities module. An example is below.
Summary of Opportunity Editing Permissions
For user roles that have View Only My Properties or View Only My Opportunities, but need to access specific properties or opportunities, use the Additional Users field and add them to the property or opportunity so they can view without having to change their permissions in Aspire.
On a Property:
On an Opportunity:
📌 Note: Users who have the Edit My Opportunities permission can edit opportunities if they are listed as additional users on the opportunity.